Friday Five

1.  On the morning commute, I looked up and suddenly realized I had missed my stop because I was so engrossed in my book. True, I was at a particularly suspensful part of the story, but the book is that good. It’s The Help. Have you read it? If so, you know exactly what I’m talking about. The story changes POV between three women in 1962 Jackson, Miss. One is white; two are black. One is priviliged; two scrape by as maids. The story is about what happens when one wants to write the life stories of the other two.  I’ll post a review when I’m done, but in the meantime, if you’re looking for something to read, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

2. I sent the editor that difficult-to-write message as mentioned here. Unable to get the original article idea to gel, I was nervous that she would condemn me to magazine hell, never to publish another word from me again. I was especially edgy because she hadn’t been very warm and fuzzy in our previous communication. (Not that she needs to be of course.)  So I told her that the idea I’d elaborately outlined and gushed about as being near Pulitzer-worthy wasn’t going to happen. I tried to salve my bruised ego by submitting an alternative article. Went ahead and wrote the whole thing to prove I could A. actually write well, B. meet a deadline, C. be respectful of not leaving her with a gaping hole in her next issue. To my surprise, she accepted it! She didn’t comment one way or another but at least I saved face. Maybe Mom was right – honesty is the best policy. If the article is posted online as well, I’ll link to it.

3. My friend got into a fender bender. She’s fine but it will no doubt cost thousands of dollars to repair. She calls the police to write a report for insurance purposes. Before the police can show up a small group of men have gathered around the cars. They are offering my female friend some helpful advice.

“Oh, laaddeee, I know a great body shop. They fix it up for you, no time.”

“I know a guy. Jus’ bring it in and say Ramone sent you.”

Before long it dawns on my friend that the mechanics have been listening to the police scanner. You’ve heard of ambulance chasing lawyers? In New York, there are accident chasing body shop mechanics.

4. Filming is underway for the movie based on The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  The actress is relatively unknown actress Rooney Mara. Apparently Scarlett Johansson was considered for the part, but was turned down because her look wasn’t right. She was considered too curvy and tall to play the role. I heard a tv personality complaining about this. She went off on the casting directors about what an affront it is to women everywhere. Has she even read the book? The character, Lisbeth Salander, is supposed to be slight with a boyish figure, something Miss Scarlett definitely is not. No one is complaining about Scarlett’s figure. (Who in the world would do that anyway?) Can we get over it now?

5. DOG is my co-pilot. Reggie and I are heading to Tennessee for a week of family fun (if that’s what you want to call it). He doesn’t love the car, the way some dogs do, hanging out the window. At first he’s a little nervous and paces in the backseat. He barks at the toll collector and the gas station attendant in NJ. (Quirky NJ fact: all gas stations are full serve only as a law.) But then he settles down and goes to sleep, perking up only to try to steal whatever unhealty Qwik-E-Mart snack I’ve gotten for myself.

Next Friday Five from Tennessee. Have a great week, everyone!

2 comments

  1. You know, I’ve picked up “The Help” in a few bookstores lately but haven’t yet bought it. Now you’ve inspired me to read it. I’m in Scotland working in a remote B&B for the month of Sept, and I’m reading tons of books. I highly recommend “Eleven Minutes” by Paulo Cohelo it’s one of the best books I’ve read in a while!

    Like

    1. Paulo Cohelo is great! I’ll have to check out Eleven Minutes. I read The Alchemist and loved it. How cool about your project in Scotland. I’d love to hear more about it!

      Like

What's on your mind?

