Friday Five

1. I’m a pumpkiholic. The first step is admitting I have a problem. This is the time of year pumpkin flavored everything is coming out of the woodwork, and I love it all. Pumpkin latte. Pumpkin cheesecake. Pumpkin ravioli. I’ll take it. I’ve even made pumpkin black bean soup. (Don’t knock it til you’ve tried it.) My favorite new pumpkin treat is from Stonewall Kitchen – maple pumpkin butter. It tastes as good as it sounds.

2. Happy NaNoWriMo. That’s National Novel Writing Month. It’s supposed to give you the kick in the ass that you need to write an entire novel in a month. (Not an edited, polished novel, mind you. Just a first draft.) So the goal is to get at least 50,000 words on paper by November 30. That’s about 1600 words or 6.5 pages a day. Whoa. Not too much of a problem if you’ve got a bunch of time on your hands, but if you have a little thing called a full-time job or a few rugrats running around, it seems a near impossible goal. The NaNoWriMo organizers admit that it’s pretty ambitious and they say, “Make no mistake: You will be writing a lot of crap.” But, hey, “that’s a good thing.” It’s supposed to keep the procrastinating wolves at bay and inspire you to just write without worrying about quality.  In other words, just do it, as someone once said, though I can’t remember who.

Last year 165,000 people participated and 30,000 met the word count goal. Now I wonder how many of those people need editors…

3. Reggie is very reliable in a few areas. 1. He will never turn his nose up at a treat. 2. He will eat a napkin or two on every walk. 3. He plants himself under the table in case there are any crumbs. (There usually are if I’m eating.)

So the other night when I was eating dinner and he wasn’t around, I began to get suspicious. There are only so many places in my apartment he can go. I found him in the kitchen doing this…

Something tastes good.

4. Roses are red.

Violets are blue.

It’s no fun

when someone hacks into your email account, deletes all of your inbox messages and contacts and then sends everyone you know, including your Ex-, a spam message saying that you’re stranded in Spain and need 1200 Euros wired immediately. Does anyone really fall for these scams? I guess the answer is yes otherwise these people would stop doing it. On the bright side a bunch of friends I hadn’t talked to for a while emailed to let me know, and it was nice to hear from them.

5. Here is what I love about this country. No matter your background, education, class, income, etc., if you don’t like something you can try to change it. By running for political office, for example. Enter the “Rent Is 2 Damn High” party. Like Dave Barry, I’m not making this up. Their political platform is the environment. Ok, ok. I’m kidding you there. They feel that rent is 2 damn high.  Of course on election day they were slaughtered by, well, everyone else, but you just wait until 2014.

One comment

What's on your mind?

