Friday Five

1. Black Friday! Get up at 4 am? Get in a fist fight with a retiree over a Snuggie to save $5? Wait on an hour-long line to be treated like crap by a cashier who’s pissed at the world? I don’t think so. I’ve long stayed at least a 20 mile radius from any mall or box store on this day. But here’s an amazing idea I’m getting on board with. Small Business Saturday. This Saturday, November 27, shop at your favorite local businesses. It’s a great idea anyway, but if you have an Am Ex card, they’ll credit your account $25 if you spend $25 at the store. Let me do the math here. That’s FREE, people! You have to register your card before you shop. I did and it only takes a few clicks. And I’ll let you in on a secret. You don’t have to spend that $25 on a gift. You can spend it all on YOU. I won’t tell.

2. Thanksgiving hangover. It always takes me a day to recover from Thanksgiving. It’s my favorite holiday. So much good food and wine and no pressure to find the perfect gift and all that implies. I made this…

'shrooms

and this…

Apple Caramel Cake

The cake had some trouble getting out of the pan, but don’t judge the book by the cover. If I do say so myself, they were both pretty good.

3. There are on again, off again rumors that The Wizard of Oz is being remade. The Wizard of Oz – the pinnacle of all pinnacles, the apex of all apexes. Not by Tim Burton, which would make you think there might be a chance in hell of pulling it off, but by Robert Zemeckis. I mean, I liked Back to the Future and all, but…wait a minute. Now Robert Zemeckis is not going to be the director, though the name that is being tossed around for the Wicked Witch of the West is (drumroll, please) Angelina Jolie. Dear Hollywood, Please, please do not remake The Wizard of Oz. I beg you. Signed, A Lollipop Kid.

On to better movie news…Spielberg’s movie about Abraham Lincoln, based on the remarkable Doris Kearns-Goodwin biography, is now moving forward after 10 years adrift. Set to star as Lincoln: Daniel Day-Lewis. Give the man a stovepipe hat and let him go.

4. I received a letter from Reggie’s vet that she’s retiring at the end of the year. She’s been such a great doctor that if she saw humans, I would have gone to her myself. She’s patient and kind. When Reggie was sick, we were in the office every week, sometimes twice a week. She took the time to answer all of my questions, never rushing me. When was the last time your doctor made you feel that she could spend all day with you, that no question was too small?

 

5. This is the first Christmas that we’ve decided to buy presents just for the kids. I know many families  have adjusted gift giving as people get married and have babies. If folks are divorced and remarried that can really up the gift quotient and dig deep into the wallet. We’ll see how it works out this year and maybe make some adjustments next year. (My suggestion, that we buy something small for each other and then compile the rest of the money we would have spent and donate to a charity, was shot down faster than you can say black Friday.) How do you gift exchange in your house?

One comment

  1. I like how you guys are doing Christmas. I think Christmas is just for kids anyway. It should be like another Thanksgiving for adults. Gift giving is so overrated. All the things I want are too expensive anyway! I am the eldest of six so I stopped buying gifts years ago. I buy for my nieces (ages 5 and 2) but I don’t see the point of buying for my sisters and parents. It’s just too expensive and who has the money for all that these days? Sigh. I definitely buy birthday gifts every year though, and give little gifts throughout the year. I consciously boycott christmas though.

    Like

What's on your mind?

