Magical Helpers

This post is for Natalie.

It takes courage to be a writer. On so many levels. There’s the courage to write the truth, whether fiction or nonfiction. The courage to share your innermost thoughts with others. The courage to face rejection of those thoughts by your family, peers, critics, agents, editors. The courage to know that, however much you revise, it could always be better. The courage to fail, dust yourself off and try again.

Sometimes I don’t think I have any courage left.

But then, just when I decided to polish off an entire chocolate cake all by myself, two writers came to my rescue. One showed me I’m not alone. If she can keep on keepin’ on, then maybe I can too. In honor of her moxie, I can now admit it. Hi, I’m Jackie Cangro and my novel manuscript has been on sub for 7 months, 13 days and 4 hours.

My agent has forwarded me a few comments from editors, which were some of the nicest rejections I’ve ever received, rejections that made me confident that my manuscript is ready for prime time, but still ended with the word NO. And yet my inbox remains so empty I can hear echoes. Hallooo? Is anyone out there?

I realize twice in the past week I have asked friends, “Why is this taking so long?” And because no one has the answer to that, both responses have been the same. “You have to be patient.”  There is a fine line between patience and stupidity, no? And hovering right on that line is resentment.

Here are other bits of advice I’ve received, mostly from my calmer, saner alter ego:

You could always just write for yourself. Ya, there are lots of things I could do for myself, but writing novels ain’t one of them. People write journals for themselves or posterity, not novels.

No news doesn’t mean anything. It just means no news. Or it means that I’m so far down on my agent’s list, she has completely forgotten about me.

Remember what Janet Fitch once told you: In the literary world one can be plucked from obscurity, but there is no such thing as an overnight sensation. Tell that to Stephanie Meyer.

Your writing is just as good as (fill in the blank) if not better. Then why is (fill in the blank’s) book on the shelves (or, excuse me, on the Kindle) and mine isn’t?

The other author that came to my rescue reminded me about Joseph Campbell. Published in Slate recently was an article about  MFA vs. NYC. This idea isn’t new: Campbell had it all figured out long before there even was such a thing called Slate.

In the Hero’s Journey, Campbell singles out the life of the creative (artist or writer) who arrives at university to learn his craft. He finds masters to instruct him in the do’s and don’ts. But then he must develop his own style and break free of his teachers.

Once he leaves the cocoon of the university, he encounters the hard and cold eye of the publisher or gallery owner who demands that he give the world something fresh, yet not too unique that people won’t relate. He sees that he controls his art, but not his life. (He can paint or write or sculpt whatever he wants, but if he doesn’t paint or write or sculpt what they want, he won’t be accepted.) He can have three possible reactions.

The first is that there is no reception at all. No one cares about work he has completed. He can say, To hell with them. I’m going back home and let the weeds grow in the gate.

The second is to ask, “What do they want?” and give it to them. Now, says Campbell, the creative is marketable (“with a platform” as we say in the biz). This is when he says to himself, “When I get enough money, I’m going to stop and do my big thing.” Of course, it may not happen because he has created a body of work that doesn’t allow him to access what he had before. It is lost. (Can you say, golden handcuffs? I knew you could.)

The third is to find an audience that will receive his message and send his work through any means available.

Everyone has his or her own Hero’s Journey – you don’t have to be an artist or a writer. Some of us will follow it and some of us can’t or won’t, but all of us hit the real world at some point and we either fall in step or plot our escape and seek the freedom to do our own Big Thing. This is Campbell’s Call to Adventure: to try to live your life in the face of fear and discouragement. The drama of the Hero’s Journey is to find the magical helpers (in Campbell’s words, or what you might call mentors) who will say, from the outset, “Yes, you can do it,” and “I believe in you.”

I am searching for a few good magical helpers. (Oprah, feel free to apply.) There are so many people, including your own subconscious, who want you to stay in a box. It’s easier for them that way.  And as much as society and the media talk about “living the dream” they tend to reinforce the norm by promoting fear and sensationalism. So much so, I find, that I have trouble relying on my own intuition.

But sometimes I realize I do have some magical helpers out there, offering encouragement and goodwill, and they may not even know it.

2 comments

  1. Ah. I hear you, Jacqueline.

    This post reminded me of one of my favorite quotes:

    A writer must teach himself that the basest of all things is to be afraid. ~ William Faulkner

    But Faulkner doesn’t address patience here. Or faith in one’s self.

    Here’s what I believe: If there’s a voice inside you that says, “You’re good. You’re good enough. You’re better than most.” then you have to believe it. What I see here is a lovely writer. Hold on to your faith in yourself, let time work its magic, and in the meantime, just keep writing!

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for the vote of confidence. What a great quote! Sometimes we need magical helpers to give us a boost now and then and reconfirm our faith in our abilities.

    Like

What's on your mind?

