A Daring Leap

A few weeks ago, I mentioned that I had some big news coming. I know you’ve been waiting on the edge of your seat. Wait no more, my friends!

I’ve decided to do something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. I’m starting my own writing classes! I taught literature and writing for a time as an adjunct at a local college and loved it. I loved sharing literature with students, seeing it as if for the first time through their eyes. I loved discussing the impact of the stories and the authors. I loved distilling a story to its essence to find out what made it tick. And it all served to make me a better writer (I hope).

I left in order to have the time to finish writing my novel. Besides the commute was terrible – hours each way. I’ve looked for other positions, but, like many jobs, they are hard to come by these days. So for a while it felt like I was banging my head against a wall.

Then the thought just came to me – if no one is hiring, why not hire myself, so to speak?

I live in a city crawling with writers (and bed bugs, but let’s not go there). I got excited. And overwhelmed. Does this happen to anyone else? You get a Big Idea and you think it has to be B.I.G. Go big, or go home, right? Before you know it, you’ve decided to purchase a 10-acre property, hire 25 employees and spend the GNP of a small country on a marketing plan. I knew I’d hit the overload button when I’d gotten a book on how to write a business plan to get a bank loan to fund my Big Idea.

Wait. I don’t want a loan. They would laugh me out of the bank anyway.  I don’t want employees. I don’t need to have a headquarters. And I definitely don’t want to read business books all day. Nuts to all that. I decided to go small. I want a few interested writers to come on a Saturday and talk about something we enjoy. I knew I was on the right path when I found the perfect place to host this gathering. The Toy Museum. It’s cozy and kitschy. Very writerly. The museum director is willing to rent the space to me by the hour, just when I need it.

So without further ado. May I present… (Insert heralding trumpets here.)

 

THE WRITERS’ SALON

Beginning Saturday, March 12

10:30 am – 12:00 pm

The Toy Museum, Brooklyn Heights

There will be 8 sessions to start, each on a Saturday, focusing on a different writing technique: dialogue, characterization, plot, etc. Here’s the part I love: writers can sign up for one session ($25) or all eight (with a 20% discount cuz that’s how I roll). When I take workshops or writing classes, it can be tough to sign up for so many weeks at a time. Maybe cash flow is tight or you’re out of town three of the next four weeks. So it’s completely flexible. And it’s in Brooklyn (ok, you can stop laughing). Really, most of the workshops and writing classes are in Manhattan, I’m blazing new trails here.

I’ll be putting a new tab up above with more info, but for now check out the link to the site and let me know what you think. Better yet, if you’re in the NYC area, sign up for a class. It’d be a bummer to be there all by myself, you know?

 

2 comments

  1. Thank you, Maura! I’m a little nervous, but it’s a good nervous. Maybe someday, I’ll take the show on the road and come to you!

    Like

What's on your mind?

