The Results: April Fools’ Day Friday Five

On Friday, I listed five random things about me and asked for your way / no way response.  Thanks for playing along! I loved reading all of your guesses. Without further ado… (Insert dramatic drum roll.)

1. I’ve completed several marathons.

No way. Admittedly this was a curve ball (hee, hee). I have completed several half marathons. If you add them together, one could argue that they total at least a marathon. Well, that’s what I like to tell myself.

Running on the boardwalk at Coney Island.

 

2. I’ve played tennis with Neil Patrick Harris.

Way. NPH, as I like to call him, and I played tennis – for about 5 minutes. Here’s how it went down:

My friends and I were signed up to play doubles tennis in Central Park. (Those of you who live in sane cities probably just grab your racket and head on over to the local courts whenever the mood strikes. Here, you have to sign up a week in advance to play during peak times like weekend mornings.) NPH was slated for the court next to mine. As the bell rang to signal the beginning of the court time, his partner had called to say he was on the way but the court manager was a by-the-book guy. No partner, no court. Since my group had four players, I offered to play with NPH until his partner arrived so he wouldn’t lose the court. Actually I don’t even remember offering, it was one of those situations that just sort of morphed and then we were on the court. This was about 8 years ago, well before NPH’s re-energized career  on How I Met Your Mother. I remembered him of course as Doogie, but my friends – two Canadian, one German – had no idea who he was. So I got the nod. We hit the ball back and forth and a few minutes later his partner arrived. And that’s how NPH and I became BFFs, or how he thanked me and I never talked to him again. Same thing.

image from CBS.com

3. I’ve come face-to-face with an alligator.

Way. When I was a kid, I lived in a neighborhood that surrounded a small pond. Occasionally alligators would find themselves in the pond, having navigated through the drainage ditches and levees. This one liked to sun himself on our lawn.

Here’s a public service announcement from me to you. Alligators can run up to 30 miles per hour in short bursts. If one is chasing you (I mean, you never know), run in a zig-zag pattern. Apparently alligators don’t corner well. But I never had a problem with George – that’s what I named him.

4. I wanted to be a pilot and fly jets.

Way. What could be cooler? I felt the need. The need for speed. Then I learned that A. you need to have perfect vision (I don’t) and B. you need to be good with technical *stuff* (I’m not). So I decided to go into the very lucrative career of creative writing.

image from movieposters.com

 

5. When I was a kid, I had a boa constrictor as a pet.

No way. Nothing against snakes or anything, but the way you have to feed them…uh, I’ll pass. I did have budgies who were very cute. They ate seeds and sometimes apple slices.

8 comments

  1. I got three out of five…not bad I guess…

    Love the NPH story…

    I had no idea that alligators could run!

    Apparently, I will never be a pilot either!

    Fun post, Jacquelin!

    Wendy

    Like

    1. Not bad at all! Kudos to you.

      It seems that alligators have also been known to jump off their hind legs to get to birds. Looks can be deceiving… 🙂

      Like

  2. Yay – so I was pretty close! I took you to be a boa constrictor kind of person, but I guess I was wrong. I’m not one either.
    What fun!
    I found the Postman’s Park today – I walked there at lunchtime with a few colleagues, and I definitely need to go back when I can spend a bit of time there. Isn’t it stunning? Thanks for the heads up!
    Sunshine xx

    Like

    1. I’m so happy to hear that you got to Postman’s Park, Sunshine! Indeed it is stunning. I love that it’s tucked away between those buildings. It feels like a private oasis. I can’t think of a more enjoyable way to spend a lunch hour. Maybe Borough Market would be a very close second. 🙂

      Like

What's on your mind?

