Friday Five

1. My friend came to Brooklyn for a visit and we decided to see the Broadway show Anything Goes which recently opened to great reviews. (We hadn’t had a chance to get together since our Iceland adventure last year, so I was looking forward to it! Check out the Iceland Friday Five.) The show was fantastic, even better than I had anticipated, and with Tony winners Sutton Foster and Joel Grey as headliners, I had pretty high expectations. It’s easy to forget how thrilling and breathtaking live music and dance can be, to be thoroughly enthralled by what’s taking place on stage. I thought you might enjoy this clip from one of the rehearsals. It’s the signature song “Anything Goes” which is just before the intermission (That’s Sutton Foster with the ponytail.) Stick with it (or fast forward) until four minutes in and prepare to be wowed by the dance sequence. How they sing perfectly after that dancing is amazing!



2. Brooklyn Botanic Garden was also on our list of places to visit. I love that the further you move into the garden, the more the city falls away. It feels like a mini escape and it’s within walking distance from my apartment. (Why don’t I go more often?)

Most of the cherry blossoms are not yet in bloom, so everyone crowded under this one tree and snapped away. I’m in even greater amazement at the wonderful photos posted by Ms. Pearl and @laurenjonik.

Inside the greenhouse was a beautiful display of varieties of orchids. Here I used a diffuser application to soften the edges.



3. Every now and then, one of my vendors invites my department to lunch. These indulgences became more and more infrequent as the economy went further and further into the toilet. But this week, we had a special treat and were taken to an Italian restaurant in the newest Trump building. Everything was delicious though it goes without saying that the best part was dessert. Those of you who have given up the sweet stuff for Lent, are advised to look away now. The menu describes this as a Nutella semifreddo with nougat, chocolate curls and caramel mousse.

You had me at Nutella.



4. Speaking of toilet… Many of you regular readers know that I am not a handy person. I pretend to be handy. I walk up and down the aisle at Lowe’s as if I know what I’m looking for. I’m subscribed to a woodworking newsletter even though I have neither wood nor the tools with which to work. I watch hours of This Old House and take notes. But it’s all fruitless. So when my friend told me it was time to replace my toilet’s flapper stopper thingy, I was a bit nervous. It’s not like I can ignore the problem, an option I wouldn’t normally take off the table if all else fails, but I only have one bathroom. The more experienced handypersons among you might already be thinking that this is a no brainer. The job doesn’t even require any tools. True, but if there is a way to muck it up, I’ll do it. I won’t go into the multi-step decision-making process which included agonizing minutes in the hardware store. (Do I want the “platinum” flapper stopper thingy, or can I get by with the “gold?”) In the end, I’m proud to say, I did it! It took a lot of hard work to reach this point, and I couldn’t have done it without all of you. So, thank you, from the bottom of my heart and my toilet.



5. Can I get an E-A-R-T-H Day? If you’re feeling like helping out Mother Earth and her inhabitants this Earth Day, check out Water.org. Nearly 1 billion people lack regular access to clean drinking water. It’s something that may be hard for those of us in developed countries to fathom, until you don’t have it. Water.org believes that bringing water to people who need it most will relieve them from the difficult daily search and free them to live more productive lives.

These words from Rachel Carson, marine biologist and author of Silent Springare as relevant today as when she wrote them more than 40 years ago.

Those who contemplate the beauty of the earth find reserves of strength that will endure as long as life lasts. There is something infinitely healing in the repeated refrains of nature – the assurance that dawn comes after night, and spring after winter.

Have a great weekend everyone!

7 comments

  1. Beautiful photos, Jacquelin!

    That dessert looks amazing…yum!

    Congrats on fixing your toilet yourself! I’m a firm believer in “getting a guy” if I don’t think I know what I’m doing…

    Happy Easter!

    Wendy

    Like

  2. In Brooklyn “I got a guy…” is code for “I know someone who’ll make your problem go away, even if it’s slightly illegal, and charge you an arm and a leg to do it.” I’m guessing that there’s a different definition in Hammond River?

    I’ve seen some of the treats you’ve made and I bet you could replicate it with no problem.

    Happy Easter to you and your family!

    Like

  3. Like Wendy, I have a plumber on speed-dial for when Willie is out of town. And an electrician and a handyman. I’m a danger to myself with tools. Am so impressed that you’re doing things for yourself.

    Must check out your Iceland post – it’s on my list of places I’d like to go.

    I have never eaten Nutella. I gather from your posts that it’s good!

    Lovely photos & quote.

    Happy Easter to you – hope you are enjoying your long weekend!

    Like

    1. Nutella is so good it should be illegal. It is a chocolate hazlenut spread. It can be added to a dessert. Or you can put it on toast or dip fruit in it or just lick it off your fingers (my personal fave).

      Iceland is one amazing place. The landscape is breathtaking. And it stays nice and cool, even in the summer, so you’ll be migraine free!

      Hope you had a great Easter!

      Like

      1. On your recommendation I will have to try some Nutella then! I have seen it sold in our stores here.

        I have wanted to see Iceland and Greenland since I read “Miss Smilla’s Sense of Snow” by Peter Høeg and other Scandinavian authors since then. The cool summers definitely appeal to me.

        I had a quiet, but nice Easter. Hope you had a good one too.

        Like

What's on your mind?

