Friday Five

1. Birthday lunch. I went to a wonderful Korean restaurant. Near the entrance there was a line of cubbies for your shoes. My friend said that she would like to have this set up  in her closet at home.

Bowling alley or restaurant?

Traditionally Koreans would dine at low tables while sitting on mats on the floor.

Low tables

But we Americans are just going to pretend we’re sitting on the floor.

Shoeless

But we came here for the food and it did not disappoint!

 

2. Some of my co-workers gave me a lovely birthday surprise: a donation in my name to Best Friends Animal Sanctuary. What a generous and thoughtful gift. Their money is going to help fund a program called Pup My Ride which rescues dogs from puppy mills, providing medical care and transport to groups around the country who can find them loving homes. More on Best Friends next week after I volunteer at the tri-state adoptathon.

 

 

3. One man’s junk… At the branch library near my office, there is a free bin by the door. People drop unwanted books that are yellowed, dusty and pretty much unreadable. But one day something caught my friend’s eye: a soundtrack to the classic movie Rhinestone starring Dolly Parton and Sylvester Stallone. He picked it up as a lark  – a running joke to a fellow co-worker. It sat in her cube for two years. Doing some spring cleaning, she was about to toss it when something made her check the web. This CD was valuable. It was out of print and Dolly fans everywhere wanted to get their hands on it. (I guess Sly Stallone fans don’t care.) And ours was unopened in mint condition. We posted it on E-bay faster than you can say 9 to 5. It sold for – hang on to your hat – $180. We’re planning to make a toast to Dolly at our blow out lunch.

 

4. In case the rapture comes around again, this poem seems highly appropriate. 

A Song On the End of the World
by Czeslaw Milosz
translated by Anthony Milosz
 

On the day the world ends
A bee circles a clover,
A fisherman mends a glimmering net.
Happy porpoises jump in the sea,
By the rainspout young sparrows are playing
And the snake is gold-skinned as it should always be.

On the day the world ends
Women walk through the fields under their umbrellas,
A drunkard grows sleepy at the edge of a lawn,
Vegetable peddlers shout in the street
And a yellow-sailed boat comes nearer the island,
The voice of a violin lasts in the air
And leads into a starry night.

And those who expected lightning and thunder
Are disappointed.
And those who expected signs and archangels’ trumps
Do not believe it is happening now.
As long as the sun and the moon are above,
As long as the bumblebee visits a rose,
As long as rosy infants are born
No one believes it is happening now.

Only a white-haired old man, who would be a prophet
Yet is not a prophet, for he’s much too busy,
Repeats while he binds his tomatoes:
No other end of the world will there be,
No other end of the world will there be.

 

 

5. Yellow is the new black. I love my new shoes. They fit great. They feel great. When I put them on for the first time, they reminded me of something. I couldn’t quite place it.

17 comments

  1. What wonderful friends to donate to such a worthy cause. Thanks for the link. I think I mentioned before, I have a friend that runs a rescue group.

    Love the Friday Five (as usual), Jacquelin. Can’t believe the soundtrack for Rhinestone went for over $100. I’m still looking for the original soundtrack to Valley Girl. I suppose I’d pay top dollar for it, too.

    Have a great weekend!
    ~ Lenore

    Like

    1. Valley Girl, you say? Hmm…I’ll be on the lookout for that. Maybe we can do a deal. 🙂

      What rescue group does your friend operate? Maybe they will be at the adoption even this weekend. I think 50 groups are coming from all around the East Coast.

      Like

      1. Her’s is Pick of the Litter. She isn’t able to travel, though, so she won’t be there. But if you are looking to add to your list of animal charities….
        http://www.ourpickofthelitter.com

        You can buy bottles if wine, with proceeds going to her charity, too. Cheers! 🙂

        And yes, if you find Valley Girl, I’ll make a deal. 🙂

        Like

  2. this is my favorite post ever!!

    first, your coworkers are so thoughtful to make a donation to BFAS in your name. wow. what lovely, wonderful people.

    second, as a pole i am naturally inclined to love milosz, so seeing a poem of his in your blog totally made my day.

    and third, i just got yellow shoes too, and love them!

    Like

    1. That’s might kind of you, Aleksandra.

      It really was so kind of them to make a donation – a terrific surprise. And I think my company will match the amount, which is even better.

      I’m really enjoying Milosz. Many of the poems I read are about serious subjects, but somehow he is able to make them feel very light – not depressing.

      Like

    1. I visited the sanctuary in October. It was a dream come true. It’s an amazing place where at any one time they might have 1700 animals – cats, dogs, pigs, horses, birds.

      Like

  3. Lenore, I just visited the website. What a wonderful group. I can’t wait to take a few more minutes to read the site from beginning to end.

    Like

  4. What wonderful friends you have, Jackie. Truly, friends who make donations to such important causes are friends to hold dear.

    And that dinner! Oh, how I miss NY…

    So glad it was such a happy birthday. (Olive wants to know: did you save any cake for Reggie?????)

    Like

    1. Reggie just so happens to be a connoisseur of red velvet cake. He is a purist and believes that cream cheese frosting is the only way to go. He highly recommends that Olive should get her paws on some.

      Like

  5. What a lovely Friday Five, jacquelin. The restaurant looks amazing, and your friends at work sure know you and care about what you care about. How special.

    Love the yellow shoes – they’re adorable. And make me think of sunshine!

    Sunshine xx

    Like

    1. I think you’re right about Rhinestone. If I remember it was so bad it was good. Kind of a cult classic for Dolly fans.

      My friend completely stumbled on this one. You’ll have to give me some of your tips for finding more of these hidden gems. 🙂

      Like

    1. I really enjoy Korean food. It is similar to other Asian dishes in that the dumplings, rice and noodle dishes are staples. But they have these delicious porridges of different flavors called jook. Mine had pumpkin. I also had a stone pot with rice and mushrooms baked in this really hot stone bowl so that the rice got a little crispy. So good!

      Like

What's on your mind?

