Friday Five

1. How do you like the new look? At first I was planning to change only the photo, but then ended up going whole hog. It has the same feeling as my writing website and it’s nice to have a consistent look. This theme seems to have a bit more flexibility than the old one.  Any suggestions / thoughts?

2. Along with the new look, you might have noticed a new tab at the top called Shine. This section is meant to be a repository for uplifting stories about everyday people who are following their dreams. I started this in part because I love reading about folks who are making their communities a better place. I want to help make their ideas grow. Because maybe you’ll read about them and be inspired to follow in their footsteps or share their stories with your friends.

There might be an interview or a Q&A or a photo essay. Maybe even a video now and then. Abby’s story is up first on July 8. She and her family are living car-free and loving it.

In the meantime, head over to the Shine page and let me know what you think. Do you know someone (friend, family, yourself) who should be featured? Drop me a line in the comments or via email.

Shine! shine! shine!
Pour down your warmth, great Sun!
While we bask we two together.

~ Walt Whitman

3. Thanks to everyone who sent their wishes for a speedy recovery to my mom. She got some good news at her last check up in that she doesn’t need a cast. After the surgery, the surgeon wanted to wait until the swelling went down to put on the standard plaster cast. Now he feels the bone is healing nicely and she can move straight into the hard plastic boot which at least gives her more flexibility for showering and, as anyone who has had a cast in the summer knows, scratching the intolerable itch.  She left the doctor with the strictest instructions that she is not to put any weight on the left leg for at least four more weeks. The right foot is doing well, too, and she may be able to graduate from the wheelchair to a walker in a week or so.

Airport security is going to be a pain.

4. Talk about a working lunch. A few weeks ago, (See # 3) I told you about our windfall from the sale of a Dolly Parton / Sylvester Stallone CD. The rare, but desirable Rhinestone movie soundtrack, which netted us a cool $152.00. We took our bulging pockets to Cowgirl, a down home Western joint owned and operated by a guy from Texas. We toasted Dolly with prickly pear margaritas and the best guacamole this side of the big D.

Believe it or not we had some money left over. What to do? What to do? Can you say l-o-t-t-o? I bought $36 worth of lotto tickets which I have never done before. You gotta be in it to win it, as they say. Then we won $5 from that round and bought some scratch-off tickets. We won $1 from that round. We are going to get one more ticket and pin all of our hopes and dreams on it. Next week if I’m writing to you from an undisclosed exotic location, you’ll know why.

5. Summer = street festivals. Last weekend was the 7th Avenue Fair.

Where's the falafel stand?

In the name of all that is good and right, please don't buy the shirt that says Billyburg. And the Gowanus Canal Yacht Club? That's a snarky joke.

Do these earrings make me look fat? Be honest.

18 comments

  1. love the new look and very much looking forward to the new feature! also: i had missed your mom’s story– i’m so sorry to hear! but, i’m glad she’s in the up-and-up already.

    Like

    1. I’m really excited about it too. I hope it spreads some good cheer.

      My mom is feeling much better but she’s still taking it day by day. They had to install a ramp so she could get out of the house with the wheelchair!

      Like

  2. Oooo … I love the flower on the Shine page. Excellent choice. I look forward to reading the posts in the future.
    Good to hear your mom is recovering nicely. And, congrats on the extra cash. You can’t win if you don’t play. (smile)
    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    1. Thanks for heading over to the Writers’ Salon site! Let me know if there are any topics in particular you’d like to read about. I’m all about bringing the people what they want. 🙂

      Like

  3. Love your Shine idea … what a lovely thing to do. I’ll check it out. The 7th Avenue Fair looks amazing, reminds me a bit of Portobello Road market, and Brick Lane. Love the T-shirts – I often think the locals laugh at tourists buying those kind of Ts. Especially the ones in a language that’s not one’s own!
    Looks like you’re having lovely weather – the sun has at last started to shine here and we’re in for something of a heatwave next week!
    Sunshine xx

    Like

    1. Oh, I remember the Portobello Road market from when I visited London. It was so much fun looking through all of the baubles for sale. A nice way to spend an afternoon.

      Hope the heatwave doesn’t last too long.

      Like

  4. Looks good! I need to redo my site one of these days, but never seem to find the time.

    Sorry to hear about your mom. I had a cast in the summer and it was not fun. Hope she heals quickly and doesn’t have to use crutches.

    Where did Billyburg come from?

    Like

    1. Thanks. I like the new look. It’s growing on me.
      Billyburg is short for Williamsburg which is a neighborhood in Brooklyn. Silly.

      Like

  5. Like the new look! As somebody who has checked out and tested a lot of the WordPress themes, you’ve picked a good one. Nice layout and good functionality.

    Your mother’s injury is painful just to look at! Best wishes to her for a speedy recovery.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Lisa! I like the new look too. There are a few more options with this theme. Good to change things up a bit now and then.

      Like

What's on your mind?

