Friday Five

1. Here is the dessert that kicked off my strawberry post. It’s the perfect summer, no cook treat. The last thing I want to do when it’s hot and humid is turn on the oven to bake a cake. This is a parfait with layers of fresh strawberry puree, crushed amaretti cookies, a mixture of ricotta and mascarpone (an Italian-style cream cheese). I sprinkle a few almonds on top for a fancy touch. I highly recommend telling your guests that dessert was ruined by a kitchen catastrophe and then eating it all yourself.

2. A moratorium. I was doing a little (late) spring cleaning with the last stop being the medicine cabinet. I spent some time tossing expired medicine, wondering what made me buy something called “hair paste” and taking inventory of products that are running low. I discovered I have 15  lipsticks / lip glosses. Fifteen! Why on earth would I have ever bought that many lipsticks? I don’t even wear lipstick every day. I am hereby not allowed to purchase any more until I use these. And I was just making fun of my stepdad for having seven jars of mustard (spicy, brown, spicy brown, Dijon, spicy brown Dijon, yellow, whatever) in the pantry. Open mouth, insert foot.

3. Top Search. Every now and then it’s fun to see the search terms that bring people to  this blog. Most often they make sense for posts I’ve written: Triangle Shirtwaist Fire, A Visit from the Good Squad review, union rat. But this week I noticed some odd ones I thought it would be funny to share. Someone typed these search terms and found me.

  • do these earrings make me look fat
  • a nice place to hang out
  • lower east side back rub
  • ugliest dresses in the history of ever
  • fe fi fo
  • too much news not enough wisdom (What are you trying to say?)
  •    مثلث النار, (My favorite. Can anyone translate?)
4.  This is one of my favorite photos.I took it years ago in the Cinque Terre on the Italian Riviera. I love how each person is in contact with the other in some way. And the icing on the cake is the smooth beach stone on the father’s chest.

Connect three.


5. Kiva Update. When last we left Gantogoo Dorjsambuu and Ulugbek Sattarov they were working hard to pay back their mircoloan. Ms. Dorjsambuu in Mongolia has a sewing business making ger covers (traditional nomadic tents), curtains and clothes. She received a $400 loan to buy an electric sewing machine of which she’s repaid 66 percent.  Mr. Sattarov in Tajikistan has paid back 16 percent of the $650 loan he received to open a store. He sells all forms of stationery, including calendars, paper, and notebooks. If you’re not familiar with Kiva, it is a non-profit organization that uses microfinancing to help alleviate poverty around the world for people who don’t have access to traditional banking systems. You can hop on the site, read profiles of people who have requested a small loan and help fund someone’s dream. According to their stats, Kiva has loaned more than $227 million dollars with an 98.7 percent repayment rate to date. People from around the world contribute. Just in Mr. Sattarov’s loan, there are 23 lenders from places like Tokyo, Colorado, Australia, Taiwan, Switzerland, and Sweden, including me. I think it’s awesome to know that everyday folks from around the globe who have never met came together to help a man we’ve never met. And when Mr. Sattarov repays the loan, the money will be in my account to loan to someone else.

On that note, have a great weekend everyone! Next week will feature the next installment of SHINE. Stay tuned. 


12 comments

  1. After taking a look at that beautiful Strawberry parfait, my bowl of Kashi Go Lean just looks sad and unappealing. 😦

    Each day, my Top Search reveals that there are people out there searching for “Kate Middelton’s arm pits.” Strange, but true.

    Like

    1. LOL! Why do people get you when they search for Kate Middleton’s armpits? And why are people searching for Kate Middleton’s arm pits anyway?

      Like

      1. Oh, dear! 🙂
        It’s all coming together now. Let Anna know that she’s not alone in wondering about the armpits of the royal family.

        Like

  2. Oh, that dessert looks yummy. I’m all for anything that says “no cooking.”

    I have waaaay too many bottles of nail polish, but it’s fairly cheap and takes up so little space. Now, if I could just remember the shades so I don’t buy the same one twice!

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you said that! Now I don’t feel so bad. 🙂 I gravitate toward the same shade over and over. “This color is nice,” I think in the store. Of course I like it because I have about 5 at home that are exactly the same.

      Like

  3. According to Google Translate, that Arabic phrase means “fire triangle”. Maybe that hit on your post about the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire?

    Like

    1. Thanks, Robin! Google to the rescue. I wonder if the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire was what the person was looking for or if there is another meaning.

      Like

  4. lower east side back rub? Clearly I’ve missed some posts here, dear. Are you sure Reggie didn’t just type these in for woofs and giggles?
    Wishing you and he a most happy, and COOL, weekend.
    (And that dessert has me drooling. It may be time for a grocery run…)

    Like

    1. Now that you mention it, I did see Reggie logging in earlier. 😉 I may have to use the parental control feature.

      Like

  5. The top searches are very entertaining. I love seeing what the day brings for my top searches.
    The strawberry delight looks incredible, Jacqueline. Yummy!
    The photo is precious.

    Like

What's on your mind?

