Friday Five

1. Lauren’s story motivated me to take my camera around the neighborhood this week. This gorgeous hydrangea turned out to be one of my favorites. I love the creaminess of the petals. It is in the garden of a gorgeous mansion overlooking the park. I’m going back to get a photo of the house for you.

 

2. Here is a purple variety. Endless summer is the name, I think. Anyone?

 

3. What happens when it’s 105 degrees, you live on the 5th floor and you’re wearing a fur coat?

 

4. When it gets this hot, my little window air conditioner is no match for the oven, so I try not to turn it on at all. I make a lot of no-cook salads for dinner. This one is so simple you’re eating in less than 10 minutes, and the guilt factor is low. Here I have spinach, artichokes, cannellini beans, green peppers, radishes and provolone cheese topped with a balsamic vinaigrette.

 

5. Belated birthday. For my birthday a couple of months ago, I received this pocket-sized library as a gift: my first e-reader. But it was only this week that I actually got around to getting it. It’s a touch screen. Whoooo. Fancy, I know.

I haven’t started reading a book on it yet, but so far it’s been very easy to set up. The screen doesn’t seem like it will tiring for my eyes. Do you have an e-reader? What made you get one? Have you stopped buying paper books because of it?

Look who it is on my screen saver.

Quoth the raven, "Nevermore."

Have a great weekend, everyone, and stay cool!

 

15 comments

  1. Haven’t bought a Kindle or Nook yet, but I’m feeling the pressure. I LOVE books, but they are heavy and take up a lot of space. To think you can put 3500 books on one little Kindle is mind-blowing. They even have free classics on amazon.com! Starting to cave….

    Looking forward to the mansion photo. The hydrangeas are gorgeous, and yes, I think that’s the right name.

    Like

    1. That’s one of the reasons I decided to get an e-reader, too. So little shelf space, so many books! And, since I commute on the subway, carrying all of those books around was causing some shoulder/neck issues.

      Thank you for the compliment on the hydrangea. Since you take such lovely photos, I consider that high praise indeed!

      Like

      1. Have fun shooting! I think there is something especially neat about shooting in your own neighborhood. It’s made me pay more attention to the subtle ways things change– even familiar things. 🙂

        Like

  2. Oy…I know how Reggie feels. Olive gives him snaps for having the energy to roll over for a scratch/pat in this heat!

    That salad…I’ll take two. I’ve been eating a lot of cold pasta salads here. Yours is much healthier!

    Like

  3. Mine, too. They just make me smile whenever I see one. If I can ever get a backyard someday, I’d like to have them in my garden. (Though that could be dangerous for the plant as I’m not a good gardener.)

    Like

  4. Gorgeous blooms Jacquelin 😀

    I’ve resisted the urge to get an e-reader so far, although like everyone else, I have no clue where I’m going to fit all my books…sigh. And although I love technology otherwise, the thought of not being able to touch a book while I read just doesn’t seem right. For now.

    Like

    1. The e-reader is certainly going to help reduce all of the clutter on my bookshelves. Though, I don’t think that I’ll completely get away from paper books. Depending on the subject matter, it seems easier to be able to flip through the pages of a paper book and highlight notes. And I love to look at the covers. It’s definitely not the same on the e-reader.

      Like

    1. Thank you! I’m loving the e-reader, too. It’s great for those of us who use public transportation, isn’t it? Now I don’t have to lug around all of those heavy books!

      Like

What's on your mind?

