Friday Five

Now that I’ve worked off a few of the calories from the Thanksgiving meal with good friends, it’s a good time to take stock. It goes without saying that I’m thankful for having wonderful friends and family, and for Reggie, a lovely light of my life. Here are some other things I’m thankful for.

1. I’m thankful…I am in good health. Many of you know that earlier this year my mom fell and broke both of her ankles, one of which required immediate surgery. She was laid up for quite some time. Her injury was not life threatening, but it certainly was a wake-up call. One day she was walking from the house into the attached garage, and the next five months of her life were drastically different, many weeks spent in a wheelchair. I don’t want to take for granted the days I feel good. They aren’t a given. P.S. She is doing much better now and is getting around with only the aid of a cane.

2. I’m thankful…I didn’t have to travel for Thanksgiving. The thought of waiting hours in a crowded airport only to be groped by the TSA folks while they yell at me is not my idea of a good time. Or maybe it is. I think that’s the subject of a different post.

3. I’m thankful…I have many small businesses in my area. Tomorrow is Small Business Saturday. Brooklyn has many locally owned businesses and I love supporting them whenever I can. If you have some presents to buy for the upcoming holidays, consider bypassing the mall and shopping at a small business. Need an incentive? The above link will take  you to the FB page of Small Business Saturday, hosted by American Express. If you have an AmEx card and you register on the FB site today, you’ll receive a $25 statement credit  for purchases made at a small business on Saturday. Maybe, like my mom, you live in a town where there aren’t any mom-and-pops because the big box stores pushed them out long ago. The FB page can also help you find local businesses in your area.

4. I’m thankful…there are wonderful, dedicated people in this world who help homeless animals.  In 1985, more than 25 million cats and dogs were being put down in U.S. shelters each year. Last year that number was down to less than 5 million. That’s quite an improvement, and having gotten to know  some of these people, I have believe in my heart that we’ll get the rest of the way there. It was due in no small part to the scores of volunteers, foster homes and local rescue groups who work tirelessly one dog, cat, horse, pig, rabbit and parrot at a time. They amaze me with their generosity every single day. (Read about one such woman on Love and a Six-Foot Leash – the very definition of perserverance.)

5. I’m thankful…for each and every one of you who stop by this blog. The fact that you would take a few moments out of your busy day to read my words warms my heart.  I’m thankful that you all have supported the SHINE series with your touching comments and by sending the names of friends and family members you are proud of. (Please keep them coming!) It is my wish that the good vibes continue to spread far and wide.

What are some things you’re thankful for this year? 

16 comments

  1. I am thankful for my freedom to live as I choose, where I choose. It truly is a luxury to be able to travel as much as I do (also a conscious decision on my part, to not buy that killer pair of shoes or that cute vintage dress…). Also thankful for my friends, who are a supportive bunch. This past year has been extremely hectic, full of change – but they’ve been around for all of it.

    I also appreciate all those folks out there like yourself who consistently write interesting and challenging articles. As usual, it’s a pleasure reading you, Jacqui!

    Like

    1. What a wonderful, heartfelt list of gratitude, Gemma. Thank you so much for coming round and offering lovely words of encouragement!

      Like

  2. We have so much to be thankful for! (Very glad to hear the news concerning the number of animals being put down dropping so significantly…thank you for sharing that. It’s a shame on us humans that ANY are put down, but it’s good to know progress in the right direction is being made.)
    Lovely post, Jackie. Have a great weekend. 🙂

    Like

    1. We are certainly making progress in the right direction. There is still a long way to go, but I’m so thankful that we’ve come so far. It can be done!
      I hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving!

      Like

    1. Likewise, Kathy! I feel like I learn something each time I read your post. They are inspiring and thoughtful. Thank you for continuing to write these lovely words. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving without any problems getting a can of pumpkin!

      Like

    1. I’m blushing over here, Nancy! I always appreciate hearing from you by post or by comment.
      I hope you’re getting in the swing of the season.

      Like

    1. I did have a lovely Thanksgiving, Lisa. There was plenty of good food and good conversation. I couldn’t have asked for anything more! 🙂

      Like

What's on your mind?

