Friday Five

A tour of my Brooklyn neighborhood in signs…

1. They’re filming the television show The Good Wife in my neighborhood. Again.  Dear Producers: Why not try a studio instead of tying up traffic and parking for three days? Thank you.

2. If I get one more menu from the Wok Inn, I can start a bonfire.

3. Are you confused? Do you have a lot of hard choices to make? The Brooklyn Society for Ethical Culture can help. They are housed in one of the most beautiful old mansions across from the park.

In a future edition, I’ll get shots of the whole building. For now here is a sneak peak of the stately lion.

4. This Starbucks passed all of its exams. NYC has a restaurant grading system. (Does anyone else live in a city with something similar?) Health inspectors issue grades based on food handling and preparation and personal hygiene of the workers. Any violation of a regulation results in points, and this game is like golf – the lower the score the better. Any grade worse than a “C” and the restaurant is closed immediately. Let’s be honest, though. In a world where “C” means average, I want any restaurant where I eat to be an overachiever.

5. The bodega around the corner has a huge flower stall just outside the entrance. When I walk by the mixture of scents is intoxicating. I couldn’t resist a shot of the beautiful tulips from Holland since I’ll soon be visiting where these guys sprouted from bulbs.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

30 comments

    1. That must have been wonderful!
      I’m going to Holland in a few months to see the Tulip festival. They have a parade with floats covered in tulips. Kind of like the Rose Bowl parade.
      We’ll have to compare notes! 🙂

      Like

  1. I hated seeing those parking signs in Boston. There was always some movie or something going. I can only imagine it is worse in NYC. Keep the menus in case your heat goes out.

    Like

    1. And they’re filming inside! They need four blocks of parking just for all of the trailers and food services and equipment trucks. Makes me wonder why they don’t film in a proper studio.

      Like

  2. I like that the Society For Ethical Culture has it’s own building. I wonder if they have a section that checks the standards of the people who work there, like a Professional Standards board for doctors.

    Like

  3. Good morning, my friends!
    Oh, those menus…in the era of online listings, I think we can safely say this is one paper product we can do without now.
    My grandmother was a long time member of Ethical Culture in Riverdale. I remember always hearing her refer to the place in one long word–you know how when you’re young you don’t “hear” words, just a stream of sounds? I never knew much about it.
    Oh, those tulips are gorgeous. (Though not as gorgeous as Reggie, of course.) Hope lots of things are blooming in your neck of the woods, dear!

    Like

    1. Reggie understands that most things pale in comparison to his handsome self. It’s his cross in life to bear.
      I noticed a whole trove of daffodils just ready to open up near my building. It’s crazy to think that spring is really here.
      I hope you’ve sufficiently recovered from Mardi Gras.

      Like

  4. I have never seen a grade on a restaurant so far but the again Switzerland has extreely high standards. I think the place wouldn’t even be open if it was below A.
    I just had the most gorgeous purple tulips ever. When I start seeing them in flower shops I know spring isn’t that far away anymore.
    Not a lot of filming here, I’m afraid. Although I live next to producer Arthur Cohn.

    Like

    1. In NYC, there are so many restaurants and stalls tucked into every nook and cranny. I’d read recently that there were 10,000 eateries in the city. And there are many people from other cultures with differing standards of food cleanliness. It’s comforting to know that the restaurants are being reviewed on a regular basis. I’d love to experience a restaurant in Switzerland!

      Like

  5. Beautiful flowers! Love the bright colors.
    The Brooklyn Society for Ethical Culture… really? Sounds intriguing. I hope you will write up something for us soon.
    Have a wonderful weekend, Jackie!

    Like

    1. Aren’t those flowers gorgeous? This flower stall is at least 20 yards long and filled with the most colorful arrangements. The scent is just lovely and when I walk by I get the most fantastic aroma,

      Like

  6. Oh my, that’s a beautiful picture of the flowers, Jackie. Don’t you just love ’em? Lucky you to get to walk by that view everyday.
    Yes, I agree, I do want my restaurants to be above average. The news here does a segment called ‘the dirty dozen’ or some such, where they expose any local restaurants that have health violations. It would be great if they would post a grade…that’s awesome!
    I’m surprised you have to deal with television shows doing this to you…what nerve! Who gives them the right to do this repeatedly? I could maybe see once, but more than that, with no recompense, is just, I don’t know, unconstitutional, or something. Dang!

    Like

    1. Once I grabbed some breakfast at a local deli near my office and when I passed it on my way out for lunch, it had been shut down by the health department. I didn’t feel so good for the rest of the afternoon! So I’m definitely glad for this rating system!

      Like

    1. They left this afternoon. Thank goodness! Though the food at the craft services truck did smell delicious. 🙂
      Have a great weekend!

      Like

  7. Great mind think alike . . . I had also thought of doing a “signs post”. With an African twist, of course.

    Why do lion statues always look so funny? Have you seen the ones that Debra from “Bagni di Lucca and Beyond” took in Spain?

    Like

    1. So funny that you mentioned Debra’s photos of the lion statues. I thought the same thing when I looked at that picture. 🙂
      I’d love to see the signs from your neck of the woods!

      Like

  8. It was fun getting a glimps of some of my old haunts. Even if I was a Manhattanite and not a Brooklynite.

    And yes, I want my restaurants to be overachievers too. Although I have eaten in dives in third world countries where cockroaches crawl around the tables.

    Like

    1. Some things never change, right?

      I prefer my meals to be bug and vermin free. Have you gotten the TV show Bizarre Food with Andrew Zimmern over there? That will give you some nightmares for sure.

      Like

  9. In my town, we have both film crews and restaurant ratings – guess which one meets with my approval? My daughter lives in the Los Feliz area of Los Angeles, where there is a home by the son of Frank Lloyd Wright, just across the street – an ugly place, I think, but on the hot-list for interior and exterior shots, so almost every month, there’s the clutter of filming. The mayor’s office tells us it brings in money to the city, but no-one can telll us how the money is spent… not on improving our roads (with a heavy rain, we have multiple swimming pools).
    But the restaurant ratings? I give that idea a great big A,
    God bless, Christine

    Like

    1. I sympathize with your daughter. There are several historic buildings in my area, too and they are always targeted by location scouts. We have had heard the same line from the mayor’s office about money these shoots bring to the city. I hope someone is benefiting from all of the inconvenience.
      Thank you for stopping by, Christine!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Caroline. I didn’t get to see him unfortunately – only crew members setting up. You’d be amazed at how many lights and cables and equipment they have to haul in!

      Like

What's on your mind?

