Friday Five

Time for another tour around the neighborhood. Here are some interesting signs that give you a some of the local flavor.

1. The Garden Is Open. Spring has definitely sprung here in the northeast. Temperatures were in the 70s most of the week. and the daffodils are in bloom everywhere. This is a very small community space tended by neighbors. Places like these add so much to the area and give people with green thumbs a chance to dig in the dirt. 

I caught this little guy trying to peek out. The first tulip bud I’ve seen so far.

2. Yes, you’re reading this correctly. So if you live in a sane city (and I’m guessing that if you’re not in NYC, you do), the next photo is going to cause some sticker shock. They really are asking $499,000 for a 1 bedroom apartment. It has two outdoor spaces. Come on.

The sad part, for the sellers at least, is that this unit probably would have gone for close to $600,000 a few years ago before the event which shall not be named occurred.

3. For Dogs, Cats and Birds.  This sign exemplifies what I enjoy about my neighborhood. As soon as the weather begins to moderate, a man puts out this bucket and hose every morning. His apartment is on one of the main roads to the park so his set up gets lots of business, especially on hot days. Reggie insists on Perrier only of course, but I’ve seen plenty of dogs enjoy a refreshing drink and sometimes a dip.

4. Going underground. Whenever I see this sign at my subway stop I know I’m almost home. The train is coming into the station on the right. Time to stand clear of the closing doors.

5. Live, Work, Create. I think that about says it all.

Have a great weekend everyone! 

17 comments

  1. This tour was just what I needed this morning, my dear–thank you! I love being able to “see” you and Reggie basking in that wonderful city and in this incredible weather. There is nothing as rejuvenating to the soul as when spring pops and the world draws in a deep, happy breath. Give Reggie a Happy Spring hug from me! And one to yourself too!

    Like

    1. Indeed, I will! These are the days I just love walking around the city. It’s especially wonderful when I don’t have anywhere in particular to be and I can happen into any store or bakery (!) that catches my fancy.
      I hope spring is treating you well also. 🙂

      Like

  2. I enjoy your tours very much, Jackie. What time of day was it when you snapped the shot of the subway? Where are the people?
    The apartment looks beautiful, though the price is a ‘bit’ steep.
    Excellent pictures! Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

    1. Good catch, Lenore! That shot was taken in the morning on my way to work. I usually leave for work before rush hour gets too far along to avoid all the people. 🙂

      Like

    1. Isn’t that little bucket great? He puts it outside each morning and leaves the hose for refills.
      Reggie has very high standards also. Only Perrier for him. 🙂

      Like

  3. Australia has some of the most expensive real estate in the developed world – if that apartment was in an equivalent funky suburb of Sydney, it would be at least that much, probably more. For the price of my 50 acres plus house in Tassie I could barely afford a tiny studio apartment in our biggest cities of Sydney or Melbourne. Real estate is crazy, non?

    Like

    1. It’s amazing how much a little space can cost in these big cities. It’s a give and take situation no matter where you are, I think. Your spot is so picturesque, the people in Sydney would be jealous!

      Like

What's on your mind?

