Friday Five – Around Town

It’s time for our semi-regular series “Friday Five Around Town” in which I take you on a walk around my Brooklyn neighborhood.

1. Dixon’s Bike Shop. This wall mural is for Dixon’s Bike Shop which has been in the neighborhood since 1966 (not quite as long as suggested by what these folks are wearing).

 

When we say something is “up the street” or “down the block,” it’s not too far. Β 



2. Brownstone. There’s something about this old Brownstone that I love. Maybe it’s the shape of the windows or the archways. It dates back to 1882.

 



3. Stoop Giveaway. One man’s junk… If you don’t need your old tarps or garment bags or Andy Warhol poster just leave it on your stoop, I bet there’s someone else in Brooklyn who does.

Art is what you can get away with. ~Andy Warhol



4.Flapper band. I don’t know why there was a group of twenty-somethings dressed in 1920s attire singing “I can’t give you anything but love, baby,” but they look pretty smooth if you ask me.


5. Manhattan skyline at sunset. There’s the Empire State Building in the center.

What’s been going on in your neighborhood this week?Β 

Have a great weekend everyone!

25 comments

  1. Aw man. The video is private.
    Thanks for taking us along with you. I love exploring Brooklyn from the comfort of my chair.
    In my neighborhood, the entertainment comes from the call of the rooster, the startled deer crossing the yard, the hawk perched on a branch waiting to swoop down on the oblivious rabbit, or the dogs howling at the sirens and barking at the hot air balloon flying above them.
    Have a wonderful weekend, Jackie.

    Like

    1. Your neighborhood sounds great! It must be wonderful to look out your window and see all that fantastic flora and fauna. I bet it is so meditative.
      Thanks for mentioning the video was private. Oops! I updated it now.

      Like

      1. Those crazy accordion players! πŸ™‚
        I love when I see a woman playing one. (There seems to be a high concentration of men accordion players.) I think that’s what drew me to watch the group perform.

        Like

  2. Hello dear Jackie and Reggie! It’s finally starting to cool down a bit here–just in time for school to start. Oh how I miss those stoop finds, Jackie. I still have some treasures (aka someone’s else’s trash) I picked up when I lived in Park Slope. And a few from a stoop sale.
    Hope you have a lovely long weekend ahead, my dear! Hugs to Sir Reggie!

    Like

    1. Pretty much anything you need…you can pick up on the stoop! Just yesterday, I passed someone selling incense, sandals, old `45s, egg beaters, and a game of Kerplunk. Good stuff!

      Reggie made a new cat friend named Peaches who seems to hang out around 2nd Street. But his true love is still Little Kitty. πŸ™‚

      Hope you have a wonderful weekend and sending well wishes for the first day of school!

      Like

    1. You got it! The brownstones are a kind of sandstone. I remember reading that the stone is/was quarried mainly in the Mid-Atlantic region. This place has some brickwork on the front in addition to the brownstone, but we’d just call it a brownstone for lack of a better term.

      Like

    1. There really is something magical about watching the sunset behind the NYC skyline. The lights in the buildings seem to twinkle in the fading light. I wish I’d gotten a better shot, but I only had my camera phone with me at the time.

      Like

    1. Ha. I think that all the time, Caroline. “What are those people doing living in *my* house?”
      If I remember correctly, you have a pretty special view where you live. We’ll have to trade sometime. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. The girl on the cycle is wearing a dress like one I had, so it’s not entirely un-1966! As the guy… remember The Prisoner with Patrick McGoohan? πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. You know what they say… if you wait long enough the fashions always come back around. πŸ™‚ Looks like it’s about time for this one to come back. Maybe you still have it hanging around some where…

      Like

What's on your mind?

