Friday Five

1. Daring Greatly. I found this lovely video on Brene Brown’s blog. It’s a short film (3 min.) about two women who developed a completely different bike helmet. It’s like nothing you’ve ever seen before – because it’s invisible. Cool! But at its core, it is much more than just “thinking outside the box.” This is about what Brene Brown calls “daring greatly,” which she defines as having courage to be vulnerable. To open yourself up to criticism and failure and moving forward in spite of it.

2. Wheel Dog. This happy-go-lucky guy lives in my neighborhood. He was born with a neurological disorder that left him unable to move his back legs. His person outfitted him with a wheel chair that allows him to use his front legs to pull his weight. He gets around just fine and has no problem managing the curbs or broken sidewalks. Those are little booties on his back paws so they don’t get scraped up on the pavement.

I don’t feel sorry for him because he doesn’t feel sorry for himself. He’s not busy comparing himself to other dogs who use all four legs. He is a great source of energy. Every time I see him I say, “Go get ’em, Little Dude.” He seems to understand what I mean.

3. Care and Feeding of Introverts. I’ve always considered myself an introvert when forced to choose between that and extrovert. Friends and co-workers would probably be surprised to learn that I’m not an extrovert because I don’t mind speaking up. I’ve taught in a classroom. I can be chatty and banter. But I’d choose introvert because I don’t enjoy large crowds or want to be the center of attention. Most people assume that introverts are awkward or not fun. Introvert has a bad connotation — someone who is socially inept or hates people. (Okay, sometimes I find people irritating, but let’s keep that between you and me.) I don’t think that accurately describes me.

Then I learned the term ambivert, which sounds like someone who is trying to walk after taking too many sleeping pills, but really means a person who falls between introvert and extrovert. I enjoy the neighborhood block party but the next day I’ll need to recharge by reading a book at the coffee shop. I’m okay with that. In fact, I like hanging out by myself at the coffee shop.

Which one are you? Take the Time Magazine quiz.

Are you an introvert, an extrovert or an ambivert? 

4. Roof Deck. I was planning to include this pic taken from my roof deck in last week’s Around Town post, but didn’t have enough room. So here it is. A nice view on a beautiful day.  The tall building under construction immediately to the left of the church spire is the new World Trade Center.

5. Time = Happiness. Occasionally, I repost some interesting tidbits I learn on Gretchen Rubin’s blog, The Happiness Project. She’s a wealth of cool solutions and facts that make me think about ways big and small to bring more joy into my life. I enjoyed her first book on happiness and this week, her new book, Happier at Home, was published. Looks like this one will be just as informative and thought-provoking. This quote from her section on “time” is the story of my life!

“I suffered from the persistent delusion that once I got through the next three or four months, things would slow down. ‘I’ll have more time during the holidays – or after the holidays — or once the summer’s here,’ I’d promised myself over and over. But things never slowed down. If I wanted a feeling of unhurriedness, I’d have to create it now.”

Here is an excerpt if you’d like to read a chapter. (Thought this would be embedded but it doesn’t seem to happen on all browsers. 😦 )

Have a great weekend everyone! 

27 comments

  1. That helmet is absolutely incredible — and what a great story and video. So glad you shared it. And I’m an introvert, always have been (although I was hoping on this quiz I’d come out an extrovert or at least an ambivert — but I didn’t — because I think life would be easier that way). Still, what would I do if I didn’t test as an INFJ in the Myers-Briggs test? 🙂

    Like

  2. I have so many comments!!! i loved this Friday Five! Love your view from the balcony. Emily is in NYC right now and I’m so jealous…I’m the Introvert, definitely. I speak in front of people too, but I’m very task driven so that gets me through it. I think you have the neatest, cutest personality and those of us lucky enough to meet you get to see it. Oh gosh, I love this little dude! What you said about him is super profound…”he’s not busy comparing himself to other dogs”. What a perfect example of what these little angels teach. Thanks Jackie again for a great and uplifting end to my week.

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you stopped by! I hope Emily has a wonderful time visiting.

      I know that I don’t need to tell you that this sweet guy has so much to offer and give back. i hope your programs are off to an excellent start this school year! Thank you for doing all of the extraordinary work you do!

      Like

  3. Very excited for Rubin’s next Happiness book. I never tire of those types of books/topics and she’s particularly good at weaving in the research, etc.

    As for #3 on your list, I could have written every word of that. Describes me EXACTLY.

    Can’t wait for you to read Age of Miracles. Need someone to discuss it with!

    Like

    1. I’m hoping Happiness at Home is every bit as good as Happiness Project. From the excerpts I’ve read, I think I’m going to enjoy it.

      I’m on to Hemingway’s Girl because I want to keep up with your book club. Then Age of Miracles. Absolutely can’t wait to get to it.

      Like

    1. I recall Central Park in fall… Name that tune. Ha. 🙂

      Fall is just the best time of year here. A lot of people say the holiday season is their favorite, but I love the leaves changing and the cool, crisp days after a hot summer. It feels like there is an excitement in the air. I’ll have to keep my eye out for some good photo ops!

      Like

  4. Ambivert…I love it! That explains why people always think I’m an extrovert but I don’t feel like one. I will have to check out Brene Brown’s blog more, it looks interesting. And yes, I think those girls who invented the invisible helmet are going to be millionaires.

    Like

    1. I only came across Brene Brown’s lectures and writings recently, but I’ve really been enjoying her point of view. I hope you find some useful info there too.

      Ambivert – isn’t that the perfect description for folks like us? I thought I was alone!

      Like

  5. Oh, I heart wheel dog. Love his owner too, for being such a good human.
    Ambivert is a nice. I bet most writers are either an introvert or an ambivert.
    Gretchen’s book sounds wonderful, Jackie: the feeling behind the quote is something easy to relate to!

    Like

  6. I`m the same J- a solid “I” according to Meyer`s Briggs which amazes everyone. But- I don`t recharge when with other people or large groups- just when hanging out all by my lonesome.
    We have lots of dogs here with the doggie wheel chair- don`t quite know why that is….But I always love seeing them!

    Like

    1. I wouldn’t have guessed that you were an I. On the Myers Briggs I was definitely an I for the same reason. I don’t mind doing my own thing.
      I’m excited to find so many I’s in the crowd here. We should start a club, but then I guess none of us would want to go because there’d be too many people. 🙂

      Like

  7. I am TOTALLY an introvert. But not because I don’t like other people… rather I’m terrified of the stupid things I’m bound to say (and by ‘say’ I mean incoherently stutter / stammer).
    Also, have I mentioned how insanely jealous I am of your roof deck!? Pay no attention to that stuttering / stammering dude in the invisible helmet! Just doing a little skyline jaw-dropping.
    🙂

    Like

    1. No problem at all SIG. This is NYC. If there isn’t someone stuttering and stammering nearby, we tend to get a little worried.
      Come on by anytime. We’re holding a place for you on the roof deck with a cold beer.

      Like

  8. What a great Friday Five! One of my favorites for sure. I used to be an extrovert, but I think I’m becoming more of an introvert as I age. Go figure?
    The invisible bike helmet is amazing…absolutely brilliant! Thanks for sharing, Jackie.

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you stopped by Nancy! It’s interesting that a person can change from extrovert to introvert (or vice versa). I think I’ve always been an introvert, but in the past I’ve tried to force myself to be an extrovert. It never worked out because it made me too uncomfortable. As I’ve gotten older I’m more okay with just being an introvert. 🙂

      Like

  9. The video’s interesting. Though the head is nothing without the rest of the body, y’know? 😉

    I’ve been thinking what one would call a person who’s more in the centre of introvert and extrovert and centrivert seemed a good word to me. I guess ambivert sounds okay too! Me, I’m on the introvert side of centre.

    Like

What's on your mind?

