Friday Five — Anatomy of a Girls’ Night Out

Every now and then a few friends and I get together for girls’ night out.  It’s fun to spend some time with people who know you well and conversation is easy and fun. It’s not that we purposely exclude the guys, but I don’t think they’d appreciate it. (Something tells me they don’t do the same things on guys’ night out.)

Here’s how girls’ night out goes.

1. Anticipation.  One of my friends suggested a restaurant I hadn’t been to before, so I went online to check out the menu. Yum. (Ok, I secretly decided what I was going to eat before I even got to the restaurant.)


2. Location. (Location. Location.) Brucie is in Carroll Gardens (for those of you who know the ‘hood) and it has a nice neighborhood feel. It’s not a large restaurant, but the waitress never rushed us to give up our table. A key ingredient for a good girls’ night out venue.


3. Libation. Need I say more? Ok, here’s a suggestion. Just order the bottle. You’ll thank me later.


4. Presentation. Maybe it was too much of # 3 above, but my dish looked like…well, I’m just going to say it. Breasts.  Too cutsie for girls’ night out?


5. Dissertation. The essence of girls’ night out is the camaraderie. A little reminiscing, some daydreaming and a lot of laughing. In case you’re wondering, we do discuss important topics such as the Chicago teachers’ strike and if Bradley Cooper would make our top 5 lists. (Conclusion: he would.)


When was the last time you went on a girls’ or guys’ night out? What did you do? Anyone care to elaborate on what exactly happens during guys’ night out?

Have a great weekend, everyone!  

24 comments

  1. I (almost) never do this — and yet you make it look like so much fun, so I should! Now I know exactly what I need, thank you. And I sincerely hope some guy DOES say what happens on guy’s night out…. all in the name of research for the WIP, that’s it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Sounds like fun but I’m still not sure what it was you ate?
    I hav never really been on a girls’ night out… I have no female friends who know each other but many male friends who know each other which means I rather end up on a guy’s night out. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve never had a girls night out as I’ve never really had enough female friends of that sort of inclination (also I think this is probably more of a ‘thing’ in the USA than here in the UK, though I expect if I’m wrong someone will quickly tell me! 😉 )

    I love your post except for the food pic… er, whatever is the weird blobby stuff on the top?

    Like

    1. I never thought of girls’/guys’ night out being regional. Maybe some others can weigh in on what happens in their neck of the woods.

      PS – I think (think being the operative word) it was a tomato puree. Whatever it was, it was delicious. 🙂

      Like

    1. Sounds terrific. Do you have regular planned meet-ups with the girls, or is it more spontaneous?
      Under the tomato puree is arborio rice mixed with ricotta cheese and then fried to perfection. It was delicious. (I never said it was healthy! 🙂 )

      Like

      1. I wish they were regular, but everyone is so busy. We plan about a month ahead to see if we can all make it.

        Oh, sounds yummy! It’s kind of a rule that no one eats healthy on a girls’ night out. 🙂

        Like

  4. I was thinking it was some kind of meatball, but rice and ricotta fried like that sounds yummy!
    I haven’t had a girl’s night out in ages, but the last time we went out for Italian, drank, played pool and laughed a lot.
    I miss that, but it does take just the right mix of friends for it to work.

    Like

  5. It’s been months since I’ve had a girls night out. But my best friend will be visiting soon so that will be remedied. And I think we will order the bottle!

    Like

  6. Hmm… I’d probably have to leave my apartment for it to technically qualify as a ‘night out’, right? That could be problematic.
    I guess I probably won’t be much help with your question, Ms. C… although I doubt Bradley Cooper would make quite as many lists. He’ll probably get over it, though.
    🙂

    Like

  7. Bradley Cooper definitely makes my top 5 list!
    I had my book club/girls-night-out this past Sunday evening. We read Rules of Civility by Amor Towles. Loved it! A wonderful book, great company, good wine and a wicked case of the giggles makes for the perfect girls-night-out.
    Thanks for sharing your night it with us, Jackie. Sounds like it was fabulous!

    Like

What's on your mind?

