The One With the Blizzard That Wasn’t

The snowpocalypse that meteorologists predicted for the New York City area earlier this week swung everyone into high gear. Subway and bus service (which normally operates 24/7 here) stopped running. Non-essential vehicles were banned from the streets. Schools called a snow day. The Starbucks in my neighborhood was closed.* Clearly the world was coming to an end.

We went to sleep expecting snow to accumulate about two inches per hour overnight and woke up to…about two inches total. It snowed throughout the day on Tuesday, but since the subway was closed, Reggie and I went out to play.

The footprints of the Abominable Snowman or Reggie? You be the judge.

The footprints of the Abominable Snowman or Reggie? You be the judge.

Oh, it's just Reggie.

Oh, it’s just Snow-Reggie.

It was a dark and stormy night.  It was odd to see the streets so empty. A little too Vanilla Sky for me.

It was a dark and stormy night.
It was odd to see the sidewalks so empty. A little too Vanilla Sky for me.

 

Cool snow patterns.

Cool snow patterns on this wrought iron fence

A subtle hint to carpe diem by shoveling the sidewalks?

A subtle hint to carpe diem by shoveling the sidewalks?

More cool snow patterns.

More cool snow patterns.

Those lumps of snow are buried cars.

Those lumps of snow are buried cars.

I *heart* snow.

I *heart* snow.

 

*Thankfully Starbucks opened about 11:00 a.m. I know. I was worried too.

Have a great weekend, everyone! 

A prompt from Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop.  The prompt I chose was, #2 “A photo journal entry…show us what winter looks like in your town.”

MamaKat

63 comments

  1. Your photos are amazing, beautifully captured! I love the shot down the street. As for the snowpocalypse… I wish the predictions for our area were wrong (we were hoping after we saw what happened in NYC), but we got over two feet. And it’s snowing again now, supposedly we’ll get another “up to a foot.” It’s fun in a “wow” and sick kind of way, but then you realize there’s all that snow to take care of. For instance, the banks on either side of the driveway are so high I can’t see over them to drive out safely. Reggie would go crazy 🙂

    Like

  2. Love your snow pics! We have gotten so little in Iowa—not that I am complaining, believe me! I am happy without any of the stuff but I am sure it will come. So glad Starbucks opened. That would have been the worst scenario—-no Starbucks!!!!

    Like

  3. I love your photos. Some cities look just so enchanted under a snow cover.
    I haven’t seen snow like this in decades. They’ve been announcing it for weeks as well. Nothing happened at al. Not even two inches.

    Like

  4. Gorgeous photos, Jackie. Reggie is too adorable in his sweater and harness. Watching this storm unfold on the news (they always act like it’s going to be terrible, and like it’s never happened before, don’t they?) I was hit with a bit of nostalgia for a good Nor’easter. There’s something so nice about the way a good snow-in just stops all commerce and makes it perfectly okay to do nothing more than shovel the walk and drink hot chocolate.

    Like

    1. Before long I had to turn off the weather forecasts. The meteorologists had everyone worked up into quite a lather.
      Suddenly I didn’t have to go to work and I’d been given the gift of time. I felt so free! it turned out to be such a lovely day.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love all of your photos. They’re so well composed. Reggie is a pooch who wears snow very well. He looks so stoic in these shots, doing his best to hide his goofball side as if he’s the Stonewall Jackson of spaniels. And all happy, pampered pooches have their goofball side, right? At my Grind, I knew if I didn’t come in on Tuesday, I’d have to forfeit a vacation day and I didn’t want to do that. Because I have an easy commute, and I knew we were open, I went to work. Only one manager and me made it in. On Wednesday, I was informed that my loyalty points are translating into getting an extra day’s pay in my next paycheck. Nice!

    Like

  6. Several years ago I was in New York when it was announced that a huge blizzard was going to hit the city. My sister and I immediately went to Central Park to watch. We loved it! Coming from a sub tropical climate a snow storm was just about as exciting as you could get. We played in the snow for a while and then walked home. I somehow missed my footing and slid on my belly all the way across Madison Ave…what fun! The next morning we awoke to a complete white out. It was all great until the snow turned to dirty slush.

    Like

    1. What a terrific story, Debra! I’m glad you had so much fun the the snow.

      After all these years, I never get tired of watching the snow fall. It’s magical and enchanting. And to see how excited Reggie gets when he bounds through the snow drifts makes me feel like a little kid. 🙂

      Like

  7. Jackie: I love the photographs – especially the one of Carpe Diem traced on the car. Your weather is a sharp contrast to what we experience in the desert. Sun behind the mountains and flip-flops in the middle of “winter” – I enjoyed the season through your montage and glad that the “blizzard” didn’t prevent you from snapping some memorable shots.

    Like

  8. I’m laughing because something similar happens down here in Texas when they predict, as they call it a “rain event”. Most of the time we get less than an inch!

    Like

  9. Oh Reggie looks so handsome! Loved seeing the snow picks. It hardly ever snows here and I kinda miss it. Not the shoveling and then the gray sludge, but freshly fallen snow is so special.

    Like

  10. Love the photography, Jackie! Glad the snowpocalyse didn’t come to fruition, but woo wee — all those other eastern states getting hammered week after week after week. I clearly am happy to live in a warm climate right now. But Reggie sure did look adorable with all that white stuff!

    Like

  11. I loved No-pocalypse, as I called it. My roommates and I had mulled wine and played board games the night before. The next day, I thought the snowy cars were mountains of heavy snowfall! Alas, they were not. Still, it was a fun day off.

    Like

  12. Thank you for the beautiful photos of the city and your pup! I was 13 and living in the northern tip of Manhattan in April 1982. Every morning I would take the train down to W 96th to meet my friend, Diana. We would walk across Central Park together to our school. One April day, no different from any other, I got on the A train at 200th/Dyckman. When I emerged from the subway at 96th, there was a blizzard. In April! No school, and we got to drink hot chocolate, eat bagels, and listen to Beatles albums at her place all day. Still a great memory!

    My mom’s story from that day was of walking up the 200+ steps of Fort Tryon Park to the Cloisters. No snow when starting out, but blizzard conditions by the time she got to the top!

    Like

    1. Snow days are still wonderful, even when you’re all grown up. It’s like someone hit the pause button in al the usual hustle and bustle.

      All those steps up to the Cloisters are no joke! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your winter memories.

      Like

  13. Reggie is so cute! Not only it is hard for us, the dogs must get used to the climate as well. Sometimes I think that animals are more adaptable than people, though 🙂

    Like

What's on your mind?

